What are my motivations to blog?

What are my motivations to blog?

ยท

4 min read

In this article, I'm going to pinpoint my intentions for blogging. This is sort of an anticipatory write-up. I'm anticipating the day I might need a little boost of encouragement to recall the reasons I started this in the first place. This article will (hopefully) be that for me, and perhaps it can be for you as well...

So let's get started.

I intend to document my progress

I have written a few articles as of now, and I can say that I like the insight blogging affords me into how much I have learned in just a short while. It's a time capsule if you will.

Also if I ever need to really master a concept, I'll choose to write about it. The more I research about the topic I chose to write about the harder it'll be to forget afterward.

I'm doing this to help build a habit of consistency in other areas of my life

There are many things I started to learn this year with the hope of being consistent with them. I tried to play the flute and learn french. Sad to say my motivation lasted all of two weeks ๐Ÿ˜ช.

It is said that it takes about 21 days to form a habit. I'd say what I want is to make a habit out of writing, perhaps through dedicating set times every week to write. If I can successfully achieve this, I can build other habits around my habit of consistent writing. I'm doing this for the benefit of other areas of my life as well. Perhaps I'll become a fluent French speaker around the time I have 200 articles up. ๐Ÿ˜Ž

I want to contribute a part to this big amazing tech community that has afforded me so much.

Right from my first introduction to tech and the world of programming, I was amazed by how welcoming and helpful people were. From the numerous resources available on youtube to free seminars to the willingness of others to help me with buggy code, it was all so amazing. Someone once told me that it doesn't matter how little you know, just try teaching or helping someone who needs it. So yes, that's what this blog is also about.

I want to learn new words and use some in my article that might be too inapposite to use in regular conversation

(yes I just learnt that word! ๐Ÿ˜). Honestly blogging is a medium to communicate in a way others (and myself) can benefit from. It's a means to put myself out there and I'm eager to learn new and effective ways to do just that.

This is what I have for now but I believe I might gain some new motivations for writing in the near future.

Thanks for making it to the end of this article. Hopefully, I'll see you at my next one. ๐Ÿ˜Š